O/Modernt Composition Award 2023

January 16, 2023

O/Modernt is delighted to announce its annual Composition Award (2023), staged in collaboration with Festival Internacional de Música de Marvão (Portugal), Rusk Chamber Music in Jakobstad (Finland) and Fondazione Entroterre (Italy). The winning composition will be awarded €4,000 and will be premiered in 2023 in Sweden, and in Portugal, Italy and Finland in 2023/2024.


Inventing the Past

In a celebrated call to arms, Schumann singled out Brahms as a young composer who was capable of opening up New Paths in nineteenth-century music. Brahms rose to the challenge by doing something that we continuously strive to do at O/Modernt. He reinvented the past. Drawing on his fascination for early music, he reconfigured traditional materials, incorporating them into expressively powerful new wholes that are suffused with personal feeling and contemporary urgency.


O/Modernt invites submissions for our 2023 Composition Award that invoke the spirit of Brahms by looking backwards and forwards, to the past and to the future. The theme can be freely interpreted to reflect the composer’s own interests and concerns.

Scores will be adjudicated by an international jury, chaired by Jill Jarman, and to include Ondřej Adámek, Alasdair Beatson, Nicola Campogrande, Sebastian Fagerlund, Matthew Peterson, Vicky Sayles, Raminta Šerkšnytė and Benjamin Staern.


Application deadline: 23:59 CEST on 31 March 2023 (applicants to register electronically via MUVAC).







Buy tickets FIMM 2024

Buy tickets